A spammer on the block named Facebook. A ... / 2009-07-01

2009-07-01 A spammer on the block named Facebook. A ...
A spammer on the block named Facebook. And I'm not talking about spamming in facebook, I'm talking about spam from facebook in my mailbox, disguised as an 'invitation'. From the e-mail:
I set up a Facebook profile where I can post my pictures, videos and events and I want to add you as a friend so you can see it. First, you need to join Facebook! Once you join, you can also create your own profile.

PREMIER SITE DE RENCONTRE 100% GRATUIT. chat,envoie de mails,inscription,photos, envoie de vos coordonnées personnel aux autres membres .......tous les services sont GRATUITS sur notre site de rencontre

Some French-language website (on facebook? redirecting somewhere else? I have to register with facebook to find out: no way). And, at the bottom:
******@ruu.nl was invited to join Facebook by Azza Ava. If you do not wish to receive this type of email from Facebook in the future, please click on the link below to unsubscribe.
That e-mail address points at a role-account here (and given the fact that the @ruu.nl version is used means a really old spammer list is used too). So it has never been subscribed to anything from Facebook. No need to unsubscribe, this is pure spam. According to whois for the sender-IP:
NetRange: - 
OriginAS:   AS32934
NetName:    TFBNET2
NetHandle:  NET-69-63-176-0-1
Parent:     NET-69-0-0-0-0
NetType:    Direct Assignment
NameServer: DNS04.SF2P.TFBNW.NET
NameServer: DNS05.SF2P.TFBNW.NET
Comment:    Contact abuse@facebook.com with issues.
RegDate:    2007-02-07
Updated:    2009-03-04
I am not fully convinced their abuse department is going to change their system not to annoy random e-mail accounts with invitation-spam. Time to notify uplink providers too that there is a spammer in the house.
Update: the nice autoreply from abuse at facebook tells me all about privacy on facebook and stuff like that. Bzzzzt, wrong answer! I'm from the non-facebook world and I don't want your invitations. I'll discuss this with your uplink providers. They have the wire-cutters to really deal with the problem.
Update^2: According to the facebook abuse department the mail was faked and not really from facebook. I disagree: the headers show an outgoing facebook mail server.

Tags: ,

IPv6 check

Running test...
, reachable as koos+website@idefix.net. PGP encrypted e-mail preferred. PGP key 5BA9 368B E6F3 34E4 local copy PGP key 5BA9 368B E6F3 34E4 via keyservers

Meningen zijn die van mezelf, wat ik schrijf is beschermd door auteursrecht. Sommige publicaties bevatten een expliciete vermelding dat ze ongevraagd gedeeld mogen worden.
My opinions are my own, what I write is protected by copyrights. Some publications contain an explicit license statement which allows sharing without asking permission.
Other webprojects: Camp Wireless, wireless Internet access at campsites, The Virtual Bookcase, book reviews
This page generated by $Id: newsitem.cgi,v 1.58 2022/12/12 15:34:31 koos Exp $ in 0.008244 seconds.