Using a snapshot for an upgrade so I can roll back / 2020-12-04

2020-12-04 Using a snapshot for an upgrade so I can roll back
This evening I upgraded the production webserver from Devuan ascii to Devuan beowulf and to have the option available to roll back everything I created a snapshot and left that running until I was satisfied with the new configuration and everything worked.

The steps were simple, found via Commit or revert a Linux LVM snapshot? - serverfault:

Before starting the upgrade, create a snapshot:
# lvcreate -L 10G -s -n turing_upgrade /dev/conway_ssd/turing_root
Do all the upgrade stuff, reboot, make sure everything works again.

The usage of the snapshot went up to 22.38 percent:
# lvs
  LV               VG         Attr       LSize   Pool Origin    Data%  Meta%  Move Log Cpy%Sync Convert
  turing_root      conway_ssd owi-aos---  30.00g
  turing_upgrade   conway_ssd swi-a-s---  10.00g      turing_root 13.17
After everything worked, remove the snapshot:
# lvremove /dev/conway_ssd/turing_upgrade

Tags: , ,

IPv6 check

Running test...
, reachable as koos+website@idefix.net. PGP encrypted e-mail preferred. PGP key 5BA9 368B E6F3 34E4 local copy PGP key 5BA9 368B E6F3 34E4 via keyservers

RSS
Meningen zijn die van mezelf, wat ik schrijf is beschermd door auteursrecht. Sommige publicaties bevatten een expliciete vermelding dat ze ongevraagd gedeeld mogen worden.
My opinions are my own, what I write is protected by copyrights. Some publications contain an explicit license statement which allows sharing without asking permission.
Other webprojects: Camp Wireless, wireless Internet access at campsites, The Virtual Bookcase, book reviews
This page generated by $Id: newsitem.cgi,v 1.55 2021/11/09 13:09:49 koos Exp $ in 0.006445 seconds.